Tags

, , , , , ,

OK. I’m back – and certain that you are hanging on the edge of your seat waiting for this installment of Ten Motivations.

Would have been back here to finish this sooner, but my new BFF Karen recommended Jen Lancaster’s “Such a Pretty Fat” to me, and I.cannot.put.it.down.

I blame Jen for luring me to commit Procrastination.

*********

Where were we?

Yes, I remember.

First five ways to overcome procrastination, sloth and creative avoidance, per Brooks Jensen, editor of Lenswork:

1. Structure
2. Commitment
3. Peer Pressure
4. Projects
5. Visualization

Next up:

6. Deadlines
  
   Jensen: “Few things are as motivational as a deadline. Commit to attend a workshop, participate in a review like Fotofest or Photolucida, apply for a grant, or submit to a contest – all of which include deadlines – and you’ll find yourself motivated to do what is necessary in order to meet the deadline.”
    Mmmm. He’s right.
    I need to make a few well-placed phone calls in the morning, see if I can find some wall space for my babies (note: as a genetic dead-end, I often joke that my photographs are my “children”….and I nail them on walls and sell them. Probably a good thing that I’m not a Real Mom because that wouldn’t fly with Real Kids).

7. Publication
   
  Jensen:  “Announcing your publication to the world before you’ve completed it becomes a powerful form of deadline that can provide motivation even greater than an exhibition. With an exhibition, failure to meet the deadline might embarrass you within your community; failure to meet publication deadline could potentially embarrass you worldwide. Yikes.
     Yikes is RIGHT.
     Nothing like the fear of letting it all hang out there…and flopping….to get you motivated!

8. Starvation
    
Jensen: “There is a reason why commercial photographers are more productive than fine art hobbyists – without commercial work, they don’t eat, and can’t pay the rent….Quit your day job and start relying on the sale of your artwork for room and board, and your motivation will skyrocket.”
     In reality, Jensen breaks it down like this:
     “I force my photography to pay for itself. If I want to buy cameras or film or paper or chemistry, I do so only from the proceeds of the sale of my work – which necessarily implies that I’ve completed something. No completion, no sale, no new equipment, no travel.”
       Sounds like this may be the type of “photographic diet” I need in order to turn my so-called “non-profit” organization around and head toward the black.

9. Mortality
     Jensen: “My aging knees, my bifocals, my early bedtime, and my prescriptions constantly remind me that I won’t have the ability to do photography forever. Carpe diem.
     So true.
     For those of you who know me, you know I’m fond of saying that we’re not promised tomorrow, much less today…..this after losing a brother when I was 18 and he was 16…and (more recently) after burying my dad.
     People:  we’re just passing through here.
     You have to make time, not excuses.

10. Magazine Submission
     Jensen: “….as a publisher, I’m compelled to say that magazine submissions are a wonderful way to motivate you to finish a project.”
     Nice reminder that magazines are always looking for new, good work.
     If you submit something, it might be published.
     If you don’t submit anything, it definitely won’t be published.    
     Why not take a chance?

*******

An update to the prior “Ten Motivations” posting:

1. Projects: I started the New Project last week.  
2. Peer Pressure: I am so certain that Becca is not going to bail on me tomorrow night….which leads to
3. Structure: I am not going to let me bail on me tomorrow night, no matter what episode of “Clean House” is on when I get home from the Real Job.

