Tags

, , , ,

I started playing piano when I was four years old. I first played by ear, but I also taught myself how to read music. I started lessons when I was seven and continued through high school.

Much to my mother’s chagrin, I seldom play now. “How Perfectionism Destroyed My Desire to Play Piano” will be another topic for another day.

But what I often tell her is that my creativity now manifests itself in other ways (hence, “The Zig and the Zag”):

  • Cooking (made a fabulous pesto with basil from the garden yesterday)
  • Writing (yay! blogging!)
  • Photography
  • Gardening

My time in the garden has really amped up this year, partially due to the fact that I’m using it for grief therapy. Ripping crap out and planting flowers that I love has been very restorative for me.

If you’ve been following this blog, you know I’ve been working on a new photography project about Northside garages.

Several weeks ago, I saw a pedestal sink in someone’s backyard. Thinking it was a clever idea for a birdbath or a planter, I went up the road to my favorite junk shop and lugged home a really heavy cast-iron pedestal sink and filled it up with some annuals.

It was a good start, but the sink looked lonely….so I thought it would be cool if I could find a toilet or something and fashion the area into some sort of “Life Without People”/outdoor W.C.

Ask. Believe. Receive.

I was out making my rounds in the alleys this morning….and (*insert heavenly choral music*) there it was…..a (slightly broken) discarded (free) toilet.

I finished my “work,” went home, got the car and went back to get the commode. It wasn’t until I was done loading it into the back seat that I realized a couple of elderly women were up two lots from me, weeding their garden and wondering what the hell I was doing.

Got it home. Bought some plants. Went by the junk shop again – because every outdoor W.C. needs a mirror over the sink, right?

And here it is:

Outdoor Water Closet 1

My "Outdoor WC"

Note: this is still a work in progress. I feel like the toilet needs something over it (shelves? a “window”? art?).

Thoughts???

