Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Buttermilk, buttermilk, buttermilk PIE!” = what my husband has been walking around singing (to the tune of Mudcat’s “Chicken Pot Pie”)

I have enjoyed buttermilk pie for years at Feathernesters, a funky tea room/gift shop in the Lakeside part of Richmond, but I had never deigned to bake any for myself – until Easter weekend this year.

Let’s give credit where credit is due: I Googled for a recipe and stumbled on Lynn’s Kitchen Adventures (truthfully – there are a handful of other versions out there, but hers looked to be the best).

My version is a slight adaptation of her recipe, as I am now a member of Team Gluten Free (yeah. Wheat’s not my friend of late):

Buttermilk Pie

1 unbaked 9-inch pie crust (note: I used the Whole Foods Gluten-Free Pie Crust)
1/3 c cornstarch
1 1/4 c sugar
1/8 t salt (I use sea salt)
4 eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 c buttermilk (if you’re gluten-free, check the label!)
2 T butter, melted
1 T vanilla extract (I am hooked on Penzey’s double-strength vanilla!)

1. Preheat the oven to 375.

2.  Line the pie crust with parchment paper or foil and fill with dried beans or pie weights to keep the crust level. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside while you make the filling.

Crust detail. I can do a lot of things. Making homemade pie crust is not one of them.

3. Reduce the oven heat to 350. Do NOT be an idiot like me and turn the oven OFF and then realize it as the pies are ready to go in the oven.

4. In a large bowl, whisk together the cornstarch, sugar and salt.

5. Add the eggs (if you’re smart, you will have cracked them into another bowl and ensured there were no bits of shell…). Whisk until combined.

I love the contrast of the beaten eggs against the dry ingredients

6. Slowly add the buttermilk, melted butter and vanilla. Continue whisking until well-combined (note: I discovered a sugary lava flow at the bottom of the bowl. Just when you think you’ve got it all, you probably don’t. Whisk like the wind).

mmm. Buttermilk...

7. Pour pie into filling and bake 50-55 minutes, or until center is set.

Yes. You see two pies. Why bake one when you can make two?! Recommendation: make two separate batches to ensure success.

8. Let pie(s) cool completely and refrigerate for several hours before serving.

Life's uncertain. You should eat more pie.

Optional: gussie it up a bit prior to serving by sprinkling some confectioner’s sugar on the top of it. Enjoy!

