Tags

, ,

There are times I feel as if I am catering to dying breeds. I make bookmarks when more and more of my friends are awash in Kindles, Nooks, iPads and the like. I create note cards in the age of e-mails.

However: I am a paper junkie, and I know (in my heart) that I am not alone.

who doesn't love getting a hand-written card from a friend?

My love of all paper ephemera stems back to my childhood, when I would crawl up into our attic to read the love letters that my dad sent to my mom when he was in Army basic training or when I’d root through the old family photographs and travel journals that my maternal grandmother had boxed away in HER attic (lot of time in attics!).

There’s something to be said for reading a hand-written note. It has a totally different tone, timbre and emotional texture than an e-mail (sort of how vinyl albums differ from CDs; or hand-printed photos differ from digital prints).

Think about past relationships you have had. Have you saved all of the e-mail correspondence between you and your other half?

I’m guessing probably not.

What about e-mails from a favorite relative?

I’m going to go on a limb here and say, “No!”

Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t hate all things digital. I send my fair share of e-mails, and my friends know I’m on Facebook. A LOT.

….which is where I noticed a friend’s recent post:

“I was just sorting through a stack of mail that had piled up and in it I found an unopened card to me from my [uncle] who passed away last week letting me know he was thinking of me. I am speechless.”

a) goosebumps, anyone?

b) Yes. The uncle COULD have e-mailed her…but she would have received it most likely before he passed.

c) She now has a tangible, emotional “gift” from him….in his own hand.

The take-aways:

  • We’re not promised tomorrow, much less today.
  • People love getting “real” mail – not just bills and junk mail…but REAL MAIL from REAL PEOPLE
  • People love knowing that you’re thinking about them
  • In honor of National Card and Letter-Writing Month, is there someone with whom you should connect?
