Tags

, , , , ,

Clematis

You say, “Clem-uh-TIS.”

I say, “Cle-MAT-is.”

Either way, pretty flower!

This is photographic proof that not all of these lovely vines come to my yard to die (that being said, if you are clematis and I plant you, you have a 50/50 shot of making it).

These buggers like their feet in the shade and their faces in the sun. The survivors in my garden have nearly a foot of mulch over their roots.

They are climbers and need something to grab onto or they will stop growing vertically. I have mine on  a widely-spaced trellis, which in reality is probably not spaced as perfectly as the plant would like. If I get my act together, I’ll go tie some twine or fishing line to give the vine a few more grabbing options.

I’m not a patient gardener by any means, but I will say that over the years, it has been a pleasure to see the vines get fuller and bushier. That being said: I have clematis envy when I see other more vigorous, more well-established vines in my area.

*serenity NOW!!!!!*

Enjoy!

What Clematis Like:

  • cool roots; use a deep layer of mulch – way more than you think is reasonable
  • full sun
  • something to climb on: chicken wire, a trellis, fishing line, twine – anything less than 1/2″ in diameter
  • patience. It can take a few years for these plants to get well-established
