Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

A dear friend was recently diagnosed with Hashimoto’s disease and was advised to adopt a vegan diet. I’m hoping that she digs these, as they are vegan and gluten-free.

Homegrown kale

We (err…my husband) grows kale. Don’t worry if you don’t grow your own. You need not be urban farmers like us. Simply march on down to your nearest farmer’s market or produce purveyor and get a bunch o’ kale.

Kale chips are yummy and fun and will dissolve in your mouth! They don’t have the sturdiness of a potato chip, so don’t be thinking that you can heap half a gallon of onion dip on each one (you shouldn’t be eating that crap anyway).

Kale Chips

1 bunch of kale

1 T olive oil

1 t seasonings (blend any of the following to your taste: sea salt, black pepper, garlic, cumin, organo, thyme)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a sheet pan with parchment paper (I am a HUGE fan of parchment paper!)

2. Prep the kale: remove the leaves from the thick stems and tear into bite-sized pieces. Wash and thoroughly dry with a salad spinner (I heart my salad spinner almost as much as I heart my parchment paper. Don’t have one? GET ONE).

3. Drizzle kale with olive oil (or, be totally OCD like me and brush each piece lightly with oil). Sprinkle with seasoning.

4. Bake until the edges are brown – not burnt, about 10-15 minutes. Let cool completely before storing in an airtight container.

Enjoy!

