Tags

, , , , , ,

Foxy Foxglove

My Latin-lovers out there think of this as Digitalis (it’s finger-like, after all).

I’ll admit it: I have foxglove envy. My neighbor Doug’s garden seems to have what foxglove wants, and his plants always look way better than mine.

I started playing around with foxglove a few years ago (note: it’s a biennial, so you’re not going to get 100 years out of it, as you will a well-kept peony). You can find it in purples, pinks and whites. Its tall colorful spikes gave me some height where the garden bed needed it. It also is well-loved by butterflies and bees – and you want those winged creatures hanging around your yard.

My foxglove may be too exposed to the sun and heat in their current location; they do OK with some shade in really hot areas (ahhhhh…….therein lies the difference between where Doug has his and where mine are?!). Hmmm. I really blew this, huh? Perhaps a move this fall is in order.

What foxglove likes:

  • To be planted in partial shade, if you’re planting them in a hot climate
  • To have well-drained soil. No one wants to rot away in place
  • To have the main stalk cut after it’s done blooming. It might send up a new stalk or two later in the season
  • To NOT be eaten. Every bit of this plant is poisonous. No snacking! If you have small children, you may not want to plant this at all. 
