Tags

, , , , ,

Daisies (c) Cheryl Shanahan

These cheerful additions to my perennial garden are now on their third season with me….and I haven’t done a darn thing to them, which makes me love them all the more.

This spreading perennial has edible evergreen foliage (or, so I have been told. I have not yet tossed any in a salad). The variety I have is about 4′ tall and the white blooms visually “cool” the garden (I’ll take any help I can get….it has been hotter than the fire of a thousand suns here the past couple of weeks).

Companion plants? I have mine planted with some ornamental sage and black-eyed susan. Lavender and echinacea are nearby, as well.

Daisies also make a nice long-lasting cut flower. In fact, I’m going out to cut some for the vase I keep on my desk. See ya!

What Daisies Like:

  • Full sun (they’ll do OK with partial shade)
  • Well-drained soil
  • Regular waterings – but they don’t want to be drowned
  • Deadheading, to extend their blooming season (note: I am lazy. I don’t touch mine, and they seem to do pretty well through early fall)
  • Some mulch on their crowns if they’re wintering somewhere really cold
