Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Lobster-Shrimp-Avocado Salad Variation (yum!) (c) Cheryl Shanahan

Another hot week, another need for something quick and cool for dinner. Surprise!

I had a hankering for something along the lines of Shrimp Salad Colliding with a Lobster Roll……..and this is where the experiment took me. Best part? The hot, messy part (namely the steaming of the seafood) was done at the grocery store. I didn’t stink up, heat up OR mess up my kitchen. I am epic winning.

Lobster-Shrimp-Avocado Salad
Serves 2-3. 

2 lobster tails, steamed
1/2 lb shrimp, steamed and peeled
1/4 c red onion, finely diced
2 ribs celery, finely diced
2 T cilantro, finely chopped
1 T capers
1/2 c aioli (note: I am lazy. I used the Ojai Cook’s “Lemonaise”…lemony-garlicky mayo)
1 avocado, sliced
head of butter lettuce, 10-12 leaves separated (or use Bibb or Boston. Pretty much any lettuce variety that begins with “B” will do nicely)
OPTIONAL:
1 small tomato, seeded and diced
6 small flour tortillas (or corn tortillas. I am not the boss of you)

1. Get a medium-sized mixing bowl. Chop lobster and shrimp. Add red onion, celery, capers, and aioli. Combine. Set aside to chill.

2. Spoon salad onto lettuce leaves. Top with slices of avocado. Roll up and enjoy.

OR

3. Place some lettuce on tortillas. Spoon salad on top of lettuce leaves. Top with tomatoes and avocado slices. Roll up and enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

