Tags

, , , , ,

Stack o’ gluten-free pancakes (c) Cheryl Shanahan

Full disclosure: I am not celiac, but gluten and my body don’t like each other.

I had all but given up on a Saturday morning breakfast treat until I stumbled on Bisquick’s gluten-free incarnation of itself in the store recently.

This past Saturday, I fired up a batch of “normal” pancakes for my husband and some gluten-free batter for myself. They were delicious, especially when swimming in REAL maple syrup. Yum. Saturday mornings don’t get any better than that, in my book.

Gluten-Free Pancakes
Yield: 10 pancakes

1 c gluten-free pancake mix (for testing purposes, I used Bisquick)
1 egg
2 T vegetable oil (I found some canola oil buried in the pantry…seemed to work OK)
1 c milk (note: I am all but off dairy, so I used rice milk…..and I increased it to 1 1/4 c so the batter wouldn’t turn out gym mat-thick pancakes)
1/2 t double strength vanilla (yum! or – use 1 t single strength vanilla)
Optional additions: blueberries, chocolate chips….whatever floats your boat

1. Preheat griddle or pan (or whatever you use to make the darn things)

2.  Combine ingredients.

3. Pour batter onto hot griddle. Let batter get bubbly before flipping over each pancake. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

