Tags

, , , , , , ,

Lamb Shoulder Blade Chops with Fresh Lemon, Rosemary and Oregano                            (c) Cheryl Shanahan

I had a hankering for lamb over the weekend, but I didn’t want to pay rack of lamb prices.  I found some thinly-sliced lamb shoulder blade chops and thought we’d give them a whirl, and I’m glad we did. As I type this, I’m trying to talk myself out of going back to the store to get more for dinner tonight!!! (need space out the rotation, right?)

This is a quick and easy dinner for two. I paired it with fresh greens drizzled with the leftover infused oil and a side of buttery mashed potatoes. Heaven on a plate!

Lamb Shoulder Blade Chops with Fresh Lemon, Rosemary and Oregano
Serves 2

2 lamb shoulder blades
sea salt
black pepper
1/4 c extra-virgin olive oil
1 T fresh rosemary, minced
1 T fresh oregano, minced
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
2 thick lemon wedges

1. Preheat your grill (our is propane gas; I can only imagine how much more heavenly this would be over a charcoal flame). Season both sides of chops with sea salt and pepper. Grill approximately seven minutes per side. Take off heat, and tent for five minutes.

2. While chops are grilling, combine olive oil, rosemary, oregano and garlic. It will make a runny paste.

3. Once chops are ready, pour oil infusion over chops. Squirt fresh lemon juice over each chop.

Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

