Tags

, , , , , ,

Roasted Butternut Squash, Carrot, Ginger & Rosemary Soup – image (c) Cheryl Shanahan

Ever look in your fridge and see something lurking in a bin or on a shelf and think, “Hmm…I really need to DO something with that?!”

I ended up feeling that way yesterday when I glanced at a bunch of carrots that were lingering in the crisper bin. So, I Googled for inspiration, and I found a yummy recipe with which I could tinker.

You know I like to give credit where credit is due: I started with this recipe, which I found on the “With Style and Grace” blog. Here’s my version.

Roasted Butternut Squash, Carrot, Ginger & Rosemary Soup
serves 4

1 medium-sized butternut squash
4 large carrots, peeled
olive oil
1 large onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 T fresh ginger, minced
4 c chicken or vegetable stock
1/4 t nutmeg
sea salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 T chopped dried rosemary

OPTIONAL: 1 c cooked basmati or jasmine rice

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper. Slice butternut squash in half and scoop out seeds. Lightly coat cut sides of squash and carrots with olive oil. Roast for 45 minutes and let them cool. Scoop out squash flesh and roughly chop carrots.

2. Heat olive oil in heavy pot (I swear by my Le Creuset!) over medium heat. Add onion and cook for about 5 minutes, or until translucent. Add garlic and ginger and cook for one minute, stirring continually.

3. Add scooped out squash, chopped carrots, chicken or vegetable stock, nutmeg, salt, pepper to the pot. Bring to a boil, and then let simmer for 60 minutes.

4. Puree soup with immersion blender (or….if you don’t have one, use your regular blender….as many batches as it takes).

5. Add in rosemary and correct seasoning, if necessary.

OPTIONAL: add in 1 cup cooked basmati or jasmine rice

ENJOY!

