Gluten-Free Blueberry Crumb Cake – image (c) Cheryl Shanahan

It’s really Sunday 10/28 when I am writing this, in advance of Hurricane Sandy. I hope that when this publishes on Tuesday 10/30, Sandy has simmered down and left the East Coast alone.

The hurricane is the reason I made this recipe in the first place. Part of my storm prep was to go through the freezer and fridge and transform whatever I could into something that did not require refrigeration, in the event we lost power.

There were a bunch of blueberries, eggs, butter, milk laying about – so coffee cake came to mind.

Confession: during Hurricane Isabel many years ago, I was without power and water for nine days. By the time the utilities were restored, I was content with eating cold ravioli out of a can over the sink. I had, indeed, gone feral. May that never happen again. Ever.

So: without more ado……….here is my very civilized gluten-free blueberry crumb cake recipe (note: if flour gives you the power, sub it for the gluten-free baking mix).

Gluten-Free Blueberry Crumb Cake
serves 12

1 3/4 c gluten-free all-purpose baking mix (I used Arrowhead Mills)
1 c fresh or frozen blueberries
1 c rice milk (or use buttermilk if dairy isn’t dastardly to you)
2 t baking powder
1 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 stick butter, melted
3/4 c sugar
2 egss

Crumb Topping
1 c gluten-free all-purpose baking mix (I used Arrowhead Mills)
1 stick butter, chilled and cubed
1 c brown sugar
2 t ground cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350. Coat 9″x13″ baking pan with nonstick spray.
2. Sift baking mix, baking powder, baking soda and salt together and set aside.
3. In a bowl, mix melted butter, rice milk, sugar and eggs together. Add baking mix blend in three stages and whisk well after each addition. Fold in blueberries.
4. Pour into baking pan. Top with crumb topping. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy!

