Tags

, , , , , , ,

Welcome to the fourth in a series of interviews with creative friends and acquaintances I have collected over the years. My aspiration is to share their insights on what inspires them, how they work through creative blocks and rejection, and learn about their upcoming projects on the first Saturday of each month (the idea: if you get inspired to “play,” you have the weekend to manifest what your Muse demands!!!).

This month, we get to know creative “current” Tyler Snidow.

Tyler Snidow of nimbl, Bold Bright & Beautiful and smART Gallery

Tyler Snidow of nimbl, Bold Bright & Beautiful and smART Gallery

Tyler enjoys connecting people, ideas and “the dots.”

She is the owner of nimbl, a social marketing, engaging events and video production for evolving media; co-owner of Bright Bold & Beautiful RVA, the local edition of BB&B, a lifestyle blog bringing women together to share ideas for a beautiful life; and owner of smART Gallery: Virginia’s first pop-up art gallery.

In other lives, Tyler was a VP/Strategic Partner at The Martin Agency; VP of Marketing at iXL, and VP of Marketing at Homebytes.

I was fortunate enough to stumble into Tyler in 2009 when I exhibited at her 3rd Annual smart Gallery Show at Grayson Hill, and I had a blast exhibiting at her “Jingle on the James” at Rocketts Landing in December of that year, as well.

I thought I had a lot of innovation, tenacity and creative energy….until I met Tyler, who TOTALLY smokes me on all fronts.

Let’s get to know her better!

Lucky Ginger Studio: At what age do you remember 1st embracing your Inner Creative Voice?
Tyler Snidow: Age 3! My creative partners in crime were my neighbors and best friends Mary & Lucy Meade. We made forts, had clubs, started businesses, created concoctions, staged performances, rallied neighborhood games, organized bike excursions, initiated dares, took risks and did whatever creative stuff came to mind. I couldn’t have picked better creative partners!

LGS: In what ways do you enjoy expressing your personal creativity?
TS
: I’m a HUGE appreciator of the arts, fine cooking, music and fashion – and I like to hang out with people who have those talents. But my own personal creative talents are mostly about IDEAS. Give me a good business or marketing challenge and I get a little crazy connecting the dots for new ideas.

LGS: When you encounter creative blocks, how do you work through them or around them?
TS: The healthy answer: exercise. The guilty answer: snacking. The lazy answer: start Googling things!

LGS: How do you stay on top of marketing trends?
TS: I read Mashable and follow smart people on Twitter, Facebook and Scoop It. I listen to my two daughters. And I’m all over something new with questions if it seems like it might work.

LGS: If you were a brand, how would you position yourself?
TS
: I am an appreciator of unconventional thought, honest expression, big ideas, smart marketing, risk taking good food, color, clean lines and design. I seek people and things resonate with those things. 

Check out the latest on Bright Bold & Beautiful RVA!

If you care to read other “Creativity First” interviews, follow these links:

Poet Margaret Vos

Children’s Book Author Trisha Malfitano

Artisan Amy Freeman

