Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Welcome to the sixth in a series of interviews with creative friends and acquaintances I have collected over the years. My aspiration is to share their insights on what inspires them, how they work through creative blocks and rejection, and learn about their upcoming projects on the first Saturday of each month (the idea: if you get inspired to “play,” you have the weekend to manifest what your Muse demands!!!)

This month, we meet textile designer Victoria “Vicky” Lowe.

Victoria Lowe

Victoria Lowe

Originally from England, Vic recently moved from New York City to Avon, Hatteras Islands in the beautiful Outer Banks of North Carolina.

Vicky has worked  for many years as a textile designer for companies such as Crate and Barrel, Williams-Sonoma, Target, Bed Bath & Beyond and Pier 1.

(c) Victoria Lowe

(c) Victoria Lowe

She recently launched her own line of wall art and textiles which are sold locally under the name “A Good Catch.”

She teaches watercolour (not watercolor) classes in Frisco, North Carolina at Indian Town Gallery and in Avon at Hatteras Realty.

I had the good fortune to meet Vic at a show in Northern Virginia a couple of years ago. Let’s get to know her better!

(C) Victoria Lowe

(C) Victoria Lowe

Lucky Ginger Studio: At what age do you remember first embracing your “Inner Artist” ?
Victoria Lowe:
Three years old, making Plastercine lamb chops.

LGS: In what ways do you enjoy expressing your personal creativity?
VL:
 Painting, Photoshop, my fabric designs.

LGS: What’s your favorite way to express your creativity – and why?
VL:
My tea towels. I can do whatever I want, and if it makes me laugh, I know it will put smiles on other people’s faces.

Tea Towels (c) Victoria Lowe

Tea Towels (c) Victoria Lowe

LGS: Do you allow yourself creative “play” time? Just messing around with the creative process with no project in mind?
VL:
 Send a one-off image to print on fabric. Cook for friends.

LGS: What time of day do you feel most creative?
VL:
Morning coffee time.

LGS: Do you have any creative rituals?
VL:  
I could not create without Zane Lowe….BBC’s Best of Cutting Edge Music.

LGS:  When you have creative blocks, how do you work through or around them?
VL:
 I go run and look at the ocean.

Fig Runner (c) Victoria Lowe

Fig Runner (c) Victoria Lowe

LGS:  What other artisans/creatives inspire you?
VL:  
My friend Dana D’Amico. I met her at the Product Development office of Williams-Sonoma. She is super creative, successful, down-to-earth, and she kicks butt snowboarding.

LGS:  Do you have a support group of other artisans/creative friends?
VL:  
Stephanie Kiker of  Hatteras Island.

LGS:  If the “What you’re doing is no good” voice pops up in your head, how do you shut it down?
VL:  
Tear it up and go work out.

LGS:  How do you move through criticism or rejection of your work?
VL:  
Criticism: Listen, consider and tweak. Rejection? It is usually for the best.

LGS: What’s your favorite tool that helps you get your creative work done?
VL:  
My trend boards.

LGS: What is the most favorite thing you have ever designed?
VL:  
My lovebird cushions. They are new!

LGS: Fill in the blank: When I have not created in awhile, I feel _____.
VL:  
When I have not created in awhile, I feel unfulfilled.

LGS:  What’s your next project?
VL:
Turtle tea towels.

LGS: What advice do you have to share with burgeoning artists?
VL:
Create something that makes you smile!

Blue Crab pillow (c) Victoria Lowe

Blue Crab pillow (c) Victoria Lowe

Thanks, Vic!!! (note: I LOVE her tea towels. Have a nice stash that’s constantly on rotation here at Chez Shanahan).

If you care to read other “Creativity First” interviews, follow these links:

Poet Margaret Vos

Children’s Book Author Trisha Malfitano

Artisan Amy Freeman

Connector/Visionary/Marketing Genius Tyler Snidow

Photographer Karen Gowen

